Monday, March 7, 2011 — afternoon

# 4 – Downtown
# 19 – Oxmoor Center

R. took our cat to the vet this afternoon and it turned out the little guy needed surgery. It was just after 3 p.m. R. had the car and I was at work. I offered to take the bus(es) over to meet him. I grabbed the 3:28 northbound #4 and got to 5th & Chestnut at 3:41. The # 19 was due to arrive at 3:45. I crossed the street for the Chestnut & 5th stop. An apparently homeless man (disheveled, gray unkempt beard) walked up to me and said Hello. I said hello back but in my firm “Leave me alone” voice (apparently, I need to work on that). Then he started talking to me but I have no idea what he was saying because everything was unintelligible. Like he had no tongue.

Me: I can’t talk right now.

Him: Why? (I got that part). Touching my shoulder and back and standing very close.

Me: Because I’m very stressed out. (I wake up in the middle of the night with panic attacks; I’m waiting to hear about jobs; my cat is about to have surgery; I’m trying to pay off the credit card; I’m gaining weight; I don’t know you; and I don’t understand what you’re saying.)

I looked west down Chestnut and saw the #19 slowly approaching. The guy walked in front of me and stood in my face, touching my arm again, and speaking incoherently.

Me: Please. Leave. Me. Alone.

I guess that worked, because he walked off and started smoking a cigarette. He did not get on the bus.

The bus dropped me off right in front of the animal hospital, and it took a little over 30 minutes. I spent half the ride feeling guilty for being rude, even though I said please, and the other half worrying about the cat.

Leave a Reply

